Annette Kolb

Die Romane

Price € (D) 14,00 | € (A) 14,40
ISBN: 978-3-596-90662-8


528 Pages,
publishing house:
FISCHER Taschenbuch
publication date:
ISBN 978-3-596-90662-8


Vintage women’s literature and bold portraits of Europe before the First World War

The highlight of Annette Kolb’s works are her three novels: The Specimen (1913), Daphne Herbst (1928) and The Swing (1934). We follow Mariclée on her discovery tour around London (The Specimen), witness the return of the Herbst family to Munich society (Daphne Herbst) and discover the author’s autobiographic childhood memories in Munich (The Swing). City- and landscapes as well as the passionate character portrayals are as vibrant today as they were back then. Annette Kolb uses highly poetic prose with an extraordinary sense of the spirit of the time.

About Annette Kolb

Annette Kolb, born in Munich in 1870, emigrated to Switzerland in 1917, then to Paris in 1933, and from there to New York in 1941. She spent her final years in Munich, where she died in 1967. She became known to a wide audience through her novels Das Examplar (1913), Daphne Herbst (1928) and Die Schaukel (1934), as well as through her biographies of Mozart (1937) and Schubert (1941). She received the Goethe Prize in 1955. The daughter of a German father and a French mother, she championed peaceful dialogue between the two nations.

More about Annette Kolb

Annette Kolb
© Thea Sternheim / Archiv S. Fischer Verlag
Die Romane
0 Artikel  0 €